FleckScore – the new quality factor in the exterior assessment of Simmental cattle

The external appearance of animals has played a crucial role for centuries in breeding and selection among cattle breeders. In the era of genomic selection, the importance of the exterior is the subject of controversial discussion. Using the example of how cattle look, it is clear that the interest and emotion shown by breeders in the exterior of animals are continuing unabated.

As well as the positive emotion which ‘good-looking’ cows trigger, external assessment must be able to reflect the optimisation of productive life length according to clearly defined scientific foundations in recording and presentation. Single traits must be clearly defined and lead to comprehensible scores. FleckScore meets these requirements.

The FleckScore System

A system for the proposal of marks whose function is only possible with the use of electronic recording equipment or the online portal www.fleckscore.com should deliver uniform results regardless of the breeding area and assessors. Another breakthrough benefit of the system is the lactation-specific calculation of proposed marks. FleckScore is thus able to deliver exterior assessments which describe the deviation from the population mean over lactations and thus take account of a cow’s further physical development.

2 major differences compared with the systems used to date characterise FleckScore:

  • Derivation of the scores of main traits through a mark proposal system
  • Representation of the scores of main traits on a 100-point scale

The new system does not introduce any change in the list of single and main traits. Linear single traits are described, as hitherto, on a scale 1 to 9. To calculate the proposed marks, contributions from single traits are weighted according to their effect on length of productive life. The proposal shown for the feet and legs and udder complex may be amended by the assessor by +/- 3 points. So an expert eye is still sought for the ability to adapt the proposal to a specific animal.

Table 1: Statement of scores for Frame/Musculature/Feet and legs/Udder in FleckScore 

The population mean, independent of lactation, corresponds to about 80 points on a range of the scale of 68-93 points in the case of heifers and a further upping of the scale in the case of multiparous  cows.


Key traits in detail


FRAME

The proposed mark for FRAME is calculated from the measured single traits: withers height, body length, hip width and body depth. These are weighted in the ratio 3:1:1:1. This means that a cow with identical dimensions receives lactation-specific different frame marks because the reference is made to the population mean (Table 2).

Table 2: Lactation-specific scores with identical dimensions using the example FRAME


MUSCULARITY

In the MUSCULARITY complex, the presentation of the haunch in accordance with the EUROP system is described. Mean trait presentation is entered with 80 points and corresponds to Grade R with a straight or slightly convex presentation of the haunch.


FEET AND LEGS

The proposed mark FEET AND LEGS is composed of the four single traits set out in Graph 1. The weighting of the traits is based on scientific studies which reflect the impact on the optimisation of productive life length.
Defects not defined as main traits (e.g. cow hocked) automatically reduce the proposed mark in accordance with their contributions to longevity.

Graph 1: Weighting of single traits for calculating the complex mark FEET AND LEGS


Table 3
: Lactation-specific scores where single traits are identical using the example FEET AND LEGS


UDDER

In the calculation of the proposed marks for UDDER, the nine single traits indicated in Graph 2 are weighted according to their effect on productive life length. In the case of UDDER also, defined defects (e.g. stepped udder) result in deductions in the total score.

Graph 2: Weighting of single traits for calculating the UDDER score


On the basis of scientific foundations, it is above all hock angularity and udder floor - although also the traits fore udder attachment, teat placement and suspensory ligament, as well as hock presentation - which thus crucially affect cow longevity. Cows which present well as regards these traits of relevance to productive life length obtained higher scores, the level of which proves in turn to be lactation-specific (Tables 3 and 4).

Table 4: Lactation-specific scores with identical marks taking udder as the example


Udder cleanliness is checked as part of the assessment and existing any additional teats are recorded. These do not affect the calculation of the proposed UDDER mark. Udder cleanliness is an independent trait of the linear description and, as an included breeding value, part of the bar graph of bulls.

FleckScore improves transparency and comparability


The system is able to identify outstanding cows even more clearly than was previously the case. Using the example of the udder in the picture, that should be made clear. The cow was assessed in the 2nd lactation with the single marks specified and was awarded as many as 93 points in respect of the udder.

 

Application of FleckScore

Linear descriptions of heifers have been carried out using FleckScore since 2012 as part of exterior performance testing. The data collected are relevant to breed assessment and can optionally be released for publication in various publications (such as auction catalogues).


Explanation of the illustration above:
The cow MUSTER was assessed using the FleckScore system (values against a yellow background): In the case of the frame, the cow, having been marked 75, is small-framed. The withers height was measured as being 139 cm. A mark for musculature of 85 denotes good to very good beef conformation in the hindquarters. With a mark of 76 for feet and legs, below average quality can be assumed. With a mark of 86 for the udder, the cow is assessed as clearly above average for this trait. Her dam was also assessed using FleckScore in the 3rd lactation. According to her assessment, with a score of 91-74-85-80 K151, the cow exhibits an extremely large frame with weak musculature. With a mark of 85 for conformation, a significant strength in respect of this trait can be assumed. The udder is assessed as meriting 80 points and thus corresponds to the population mean for third calving cows.

By 2014 it was decided by the Austrian Simmental breeding association that dams of genotyped candidates should be to described using the new system. Since bull dam assessments using FleckScore are now being conducted at the same time in Bavaria also, it should therefore be ensured that the assessments of cows of breeding relevance are fully comparable regardless of the breeding areas and that the scores awarded are subject to a clearly comprehensible derivation from the single marks according to the reference for optimising the length of productive life.

Quellen: Luntz, B. ,  Krogmeier, D., Pfleger, R. (2014)

FleckScore – die neue Qualität in der Exterieurbewertung von Fleckvieh

Seit Jahrhunderten spielt die äußere Erscheinung von Tieren unter Rinderzüchtern eine entscheidende Rolle in Zucht und Selektion. Im Zeitalter der genomischen Selektion wird die Bedeutung des Exterieurs kontroversiell diskutiert. Am Beispiel von Rinderschauen kann beobachtet werden, dass das Interesse und die Emotion der Züchterschaft am Exterieur der Tiere nach wie vor ungebrochen ist.

Neben der positiven Emotion, die „schöne“ Kühe auslösen, muss die Exterieurbewertung in der Lage sein, die Optimierung der Nutzungsdauer nach klar definierten wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen in Erfassung und Darstellung abzubilden. Die Einzelmerkmale müssen klar definiert sein und zu nachvollziehbaren Komplexnoten führen. FleckScore wird diesen Anforderungen gerecht.

Das System FleckScore

Ein Notenvorschlagssystem, dessen Funktion nur mit der Verwendung von elektronischen Erfassungsgeräten oder dem Onlineportal www.fleckscore.com möglich ist, soll einheitliche Ergebnisse unabhängig von Zuchtgebiet und Beurteiler liefern. Ein weiterer bahnbrechender Vorteil des Systems ist die laktationsspezifische Berechnung der Vorschlagsnoten. Somit ist FleckScore in der Lage, Exterieurbewertungen zu liefern, die über Laktationen hinweg die Abweichung zum Populationsmittel beschreiben und somit die körperliche Weiterentwicklung der Kühe berücksichtigen.

2 wesentliche Unterschiede gegenüber den bisher verwendeten Systemen kennzeichnen FleckScore:

  • Ableitung der Komplexnoten der Hauptmerkmale durch ein Notenvorschlagssystem
  • Darstellung der Komplexnoten der Hauptmerkmale auf einer 100 Punkte-Skala


Das neue System bringt in der Liste der Einzel- und Hauptmerkmale keine Veränderung mit sich. Die Beschreibung der linearen Einzelmerkmale erfolgt wie bisher in einer Skala von 1 bis 9. Zur Berechnung der Vorschlagsnoten werden die Beiträge aus den Einzelmerkmalen gemäß deren Auswirkung auf die Nutzungsdauer gewichtet. Der ausgewiesene Vorschlag für die Komplexe Fundament und Euter kann vom Beurteiler um +/- 3 Punkte abgeändert werden. Somit ist das Auge der Experten weiterhin gefragt, um den Vorschlag tierspezifisch adaptieren zu können.


Tabelle 1: Aussage der Komplexnoten für Rahmen/Bemuskelung/Fundament/Euter in FleckScore

Das Populationsmittel entspricht laktationsunabhängig 80 Punkten bei einer Reichweite der Skala von 68-93 Punkten bei Jungkühen und einer weiteren Öffnung der Skala nach oben bei Mehrkalbskühen für die Komplexe Fundament und Euter. Bei Kühen in der zweiten und dritten Laktation ist die Skala auf 94 bzw. 95 Punkte erweiterbar, sofern die Ausprägung in Fundament und Euter außergewöhnlich positiv ist.


Hauptmerkmale im Detail


RAHMEN

Die Vorschlagsnote RAHMEN berechnet sich aus den gemessenen Einzelmerkmalen Kreuzhöhe, Körperlänge, Hüftbreite und Rumpftiefe, die im Verhältnis 3:1:1:1 gewichtet sind. Das bedeutet, dass eine Kuh mit ident gleicher Bemaßung laktationsspezifisch unterschiedliche Rahmennoten erhält, weil der Bezug zum Populationsmittel hergestellt wird (Tab. 2).

Tabelle 2: Laktationsspezifische Komplexnoten bei identen Maßen am Beispiel RAHMEN 


BEMUSKELUNG

Im Komplex BEMUSKELUNG wird die Ausprägung der Keule in Anlehnung an das EUROP-System beschrieben. Die mittlere Merkmalsausprägung wird mit 80 Punkten angegeben und entspricht der Handelsklasse R bei gerader bis leicht konvexer Ausprägung der Keule. 

FUNDAMENT

Die Vorschlagsnote FUNDAMENT setzt sich aus den in Grafik 1 angeführten vier Einzelmerkmalen zusammen. Der Gewichtung der Merkmale liegen wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen zugrunde, die die Auswirkung auf die Optimierung der Nutzungsdauer widerspiegeln. Nicht als Hauptmerkmale definierte Mängel (Beispiel: hessig gestellt) verringern automatisch gemäß ihren Beiträgen zur Langlebigkeit die Vorschlagsnote.

Grafik 1: Gewichtung der Einzelmerkmale zur Berechnung der Komplexnote FUNDAMENT


Tabelle 3
: Laktationsspezifische Komplexnoten bei identen Einzelnoten am Beispiel FUNDAMENT


EUTER

In der Vorschlagnotenberechnung EUTER werden die in Grafik 2 angeführten neun Einzelmerkmale entsprechend ihrer Auswirkung auf die Nutzungsdauer gewichtet. Auch beim EUTER ergeben definierte Mängel (Beispiel: gestuftes Euter) Abzüge in der Gesamtnote.

Grafik 2: Gewichtung der Einzelmerkmale zur Berechnung der Komplexnote EUTER


Basierend auf wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen beeinflussen somit vor allem die Sprunggelenkswinkelung und der Euterboden, aber auch die Merkmale Voreuteraufhängung, Strichplatzierung und Zentralband sowie Sprunggelenksausprägung die Lebensdauer von Kühen entscheidend. Kühe, die in diesen nutzungsdauerrelevanten Merkmalen gute Ausprägungen aufweisen, erhalten höhere Komplexnoten, deren Höhe wiederum laktationsspezifisch ausfällt (Tabelle 3 und 4).

Tabelle 4: Laktationsspezifische Komplexnoten bei identen Noten am Beispiel Euter


Die Euterreinheit wird bei der Beurteilung überprüft und vorhandene Nebenstriche erfasst. Diese beeinflussen die Berechnung der Vorschlagsnote für EUTER nicht. Die Euterreinheit ist ein selbständiges Merkmal der linearen Beschreibung und als ausgewiesener Zuchtwert Teil des Balkendiagrammes von Stieren.

FleckScore verbessert Transparenz und Vergleichbarkeit

Das System ist in der Lage, herausragende Kühe noch deutlicher zu kennzeichnen, als dies bisher der Fall war. Am Beispiel des Euters am Bild soll das veranschaulicht werden. Die Kuh wurde in der 2. Laktation mit den angegebenen Einzelnoten beurteilt und erreichte 93 Punkte im Euter.

 

Anwendung von FleckScore

Seit 2012 werden die linearen Beschreibungen von Jungkühen im Rahmen der Leistungsprüfung Exterieur mit FleckScore durchgeführt. Die erfassten Daten sind zuchtwertschätzungsrelevant und können optional für die Veröffentlichung in diversen Publikationen (Beispiel: Versteigerungskatalog) freigeschaltet werden.


Erklärung zur Abbildung oben:
Die Kuh MUSTER wurde nach dem System FleckScore beurteilt (gelb hinterlegte Werte): Im Rahmen handelt es sich mit Note 75 um eine kleinrahmige Kuh. Die Kreuzhöhe wurde mit 139 cm gemessen. Note 85 in der Bemuskelung bedeutet guten bis sehr guten Fleischansatz in der Hinterhand. Im Fundament kann mit Note 76 von einer unterdurchschnittlichen Qualität ausgegangen werden. Mit Note 86 im Euter ist die Kuh deutlich überdurchschnittlich in diesem Merkmal bewertet. Ihre Mutter wurde ebenfalls mit FleckScore in der 3. Laktation beurteilt. Mit 91-74-85-80 K151 zeigt die Kuh laut ihrer Bewertung extrem großen Rahmen bei schwacher Bemuskelung. Im Fundament mit Note 85 kann von einer deutlichen Stärke in diesem Merkmal ausgegangen werden. Das Euter ist mit 80 Punkten bewertet und entspricht somit dem Populationsmittel für Drittkalbskühe.

Mit 2014 wurde von der österreichischen Fleckviehzucht beschlossen, Mütter von genotypisierten Kandidaten mit dem neuen System zu beschreiben. Nachdem zeitgleich auch in Bayern die Bullenmütterbewertungen mit FleckScore durchgeführt werden, sollte damit gewährleistet sein, dass die Bewertungen der züchterisch relevanten Kühe unabhängig der Zuchtgebiete voll vergleichbar sind und die vergebenen Komplexnoten einer klar nachvollziehbaren Ableitung aus den Einzelnoten gemäß dem Bezug zur Optimierung der Nutzungsdauer unterliegen.

Quellen: Luntz, B. ,  Krogmeier, D., Pfleger, R. (2014)